Penalties for driving without car insurance in New Jersey

If you decide to drive a vehicle in the state of New Jersey here is what you may be faced with for breaking the law.

NJPAIP New Jersey High Risk auto insurance brokers. Personal and commercial help available (856) 863-5654.

39:6B-2. Penalties

2. Any owner or registrant of a motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this State who operates or causes to
be operated a motor vehicle upon any public road or highway in this State without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by this act, and any operator who operates or causes a motor vehicle to be operated and who knows or should know from the attendant circumstances that the motor vehicle is without motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by thisĀ  act shall be subject, for the first offense, to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and a period of community service to be determined by the court, and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of conviction.? Upon subsequent conviction, he shall be subject to a fine of up to $5,000 and shall be subject to imprisonment for a term of 14 days and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from the date of his conviction, and, after the expiration of said period, he may make application to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the director. The director’s discretion shall be based upon an assessment of the likelihood that the individual will operate or cause a motor vehicle to be operated in the future without the insurance coverage required by this act. A complaint for violation of this act may be made to a municipal court at any time within six months after the date of the alleged offense.

Failure to produce at the time of trial an insurance identification card or an insurance policy which was in force for the time of operation for which the offense is charged creates a reputable presumption that the person was uninsured when charged with a violation of this section.
L.1972,c.197,s.2; amended 1983, c.141, s.1; 1987, c.46; 1988,
c.156, s.15; 1990, c.8, s.49; 1997, c.151, s.12.

39:6B-3. Uninsured motorist prevention fund The Uninsured Motorist Prevention Fund (hereinafter referred to as the “fund” ) is established as a non lapsing, revolving fund into which shall be deposited all revenues from the fines imposed pursuant to section 2 of P.L. 1972, c. 197 (C.39:6B-2). Interest received on moneys in the fund shall be credited to the fund. The fund shall be administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Law and Public Safety.?
Moneys in the fund shall be allocated and used for the purpose of the administrative expenses of the fund and enforcement of the compulsory motor vehicle insurance law, P.L 1972, c. 197 (C. 39:6B-1 et seq.) by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

L.1983, c. 141, s. 2, eff. April 20, 1983.

[wpforms id=”29″ title=”true” description=”true”]